Screen quality tiers: OEM vs soft OLED vs hard OLED vs incell
Replacement iPhone and Samsung screens are sold in a handful of quality tiers. A cheap and an expensive "iPhone 15 screen" are often different technology, not just different brands, so a price comparison only makes sense within one tier. Here's what each one means, from closest-to-original down.
1. OEM (original): pulls and refurbished
A panel made for the phone maker, not a copy. Since new genuine screens are rarely sold on the wholesale market, they usually come as OEM pulls (removed from a used or broken phone) or refurbished OEM (an original display panel with new glass, frame or polarizer fitted). Image, brightness, touch feel and power draw match the original. Ask whether a refurb has had its glass replaced, and what the warranty covers.
2. Soft OLED (aftermarket)
An aftermarket OLED panel built on a flexible substrate, like the original. It's the closest aftermarket option: thin, true blacks, similar colors and similar battery use. On Pro models, check whether the listing says 120Hz; some aftermarket panels run at 60Hz only.
3. Hard OLED (aftermarket)
Still OLED, so blacks and contrast stay good, but the panel sits on a rigid glass substrate. That makes it stiffer and usually thicker than a soft OLED. Supplier listings commonly warn that hard OLEDs can break more easily than soft OLED or OEM, and that the notch or border area may differ slightly from the original. It costs less than soft OLED.
4. Incell LCD (aftermarket)
An LCD with the touch layer built into the LCD cell, used as a budget replacement for phones that shipped with OLED. LCDs need a backlight, so there are no true blacks, and listings commonly warn about higher battery drain, more heat, a thicker stack (sometimes thinner cover glass to make it fit) and poor Always-On Display behavior. It's the cheapest tier. Good for a budget repair if the customer knows what they're getting.
Things that apply to every tier
- Brand and grade names aren't standard. Each supplier has its own labels (house brands, "Premium", "Select", version numbers). If a listing doesn't say whether it's OEM, soft OLED, hard OLED or LCD, ask before you buy. PartsGrade lists the tier exactly as the listing states it, and says "not stated" when it doesn't.
- iPhone "Unknown Part" message. On iPhone 11 and later, a display that isn't a genuine Apple part shows as "Unknown Part" under Settings → General → About → Parts and Service History. Genuine pulls can also show a parts message unless they're paired through Apple's own repair process.
- True Tone and IC transfer. Some iPhone screens need the original display's data copied with a programmer to keep True Tone working. Listings often say "IC transfer eligible" or similar.
- Warranty and defect rates vary more between suppliers than between tiers. That's what supplier reviews are for.
What each tier costs right now
Public list prices from suppliers whose terms allow automatic checks, as of the date shown. Same device, different tiers. Full tables on each part page.
| Part | Supplier | Tier (as listed) | Price | Checked | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| iPhone 13 screen | Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | OLED, WGP 'Premium' grade (OEM/aftermarket not stated) | $70.31 | 2026-10-19 | source |
| Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | Soft OLED (WGP 'Evolve') | $40.69 | 2026-10-19 | source | |
| Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | Hard OLED (WGP 'Evolve') | $30.15 | 2026-10-19 | source | |
| Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | Incell LCD (aftermarket) | $17.29 | 2026-10-19 | source | |
| iPhone 14 screen | Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | OLED, WGP 'Premium' grade (OEM/aftermarket not stated) | $66.23 | 2026-10-19 | source |
| Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | Soft OLED (WGP 'Evolve') | $42.15 | 2026-10-19 | source | |
| Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | Hard OLED (WGP 'Evolve') | $31.01 | 2026-10-19 | source | |
| Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | Incell LCD (aftermarket) | $17.50 | 2026-10-19 | source | |
| iPhone 15 screen | Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | OLED, WGP 'Premium' grade (OEM/aftermarket not stated) | $112.54 | 2026-10-19 | source |
| Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | Soft OLED (WGP 'Evolve') | $55.28 | 2026-10-19 | source | |
| Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | Hard OLED (WGP 'Evolve') | $33.13 | 2026-10-19 | source | |
| Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | Incell LCD (aftermarket) | $20.40 | 2026-10-19 | source | |
| iPhone 16 screen | Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | OLED, WGP 'Premium' grade (OEM/aftermarket not stated) | $142.29 | 2026-10-19 | source |
| Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | Soft OLED (WGP 'Evolve') | $45.29 | 2026-10-19 | source | |
| Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | Hard OLED (WGP 'Evolve') | $36.47 | 2026-10-19 | source | |
| Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | Incell LCD (aftermarket) | $22.66 | 2026-10-19 | source | |
| iPhone 15 Pro Max screen | Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | OLED, WGP 'Premium' grade (OEM/aftermarket not stated) | $201.25 | 2026-10-19 | source |
| Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | Soft OLED (WGP 'Evolve') 120Hz | $44.67 | 2026-10-19 | source | |
| Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | Hard OLED (WGP 'Evolve') | $37.12 | 2026-10-19 | source | |
| Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | Incell LCD (aftermarket) 120Hz | $31.67 | 2026-10-19 | source | |
| Samsung Galaxy A15 screen | Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | OLED, WGP 'Premium' grade (OEM/aftermarket not stated) | $43.58 | 2026-10-19 | source |
| Wholesale Gadget Parts (WGP) | OLED, WGP 'Premium' grade (OEM/aftermarket not stated) | $38.77 | 2026-10-19 | source |
Used one of these tiers?
Tell other techs how it held up: defects, returns, how the supplier handled it. It takes about a minute.
Review a supplierThe Parts Report
Weekly: price moves, RMA warnings, supplier spotlights. Free.